Reviews of the Bessemer Hostel

Great Place To Stay; Clean and Friendly

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on from Sarah in Iowa

Pros: Comfortable, clean, and safe; friendly, generous, and caring owner

Location: Lots of trails in the National Forest right from the hostel and a short drive from Athens and lots of restaurants

I had a really great experience at the Bessemer Hostel! It was easy to find and the owner was incredibly friendly and concerned with his guests' comfort. He gave me a free copy of his book, told me about his travels, offered me lots of free food and coffee, and helped me to find the trails nearby. He even walked with me through the beginning of the trail to make sure I was going the right way. He was always coming up into the hostel to make sure I had everything I needed. The hostel itself was clean, warm, and comfortable. Everything was clearly labeled. During my stay, the area had a Snow Emergency, and he told me before the emergency was declared that I was welcome to stay another night if I needed to and got up early in the morning to shovel my car out of the snow for me. During the driving ban, I went for a walk and the neighbors near the hostel were very friendly. Overall, I had a wonderful stay at the hostel. I read lots of reviews before deciding to stay here because I am often hesitant for safety and security reasons to stay at a hostel. From the negative things I remember reading in other reviews, I experienced none of them. Nothing about my stay was negative. The price of staying at the hostel was the best I could find and the owner did everything he could to make me feel at home. I absolutely loved staying here and would not hesitate to return if I am ever in the area again.

 Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 4, 2016 by Chad Kister

Thanks. I try my best to help my guests.

“Wild and wonderful! Great host! Good conversations!

Susann and Labor, Germany and Hungary

"Thank you Chad for opening your house to us passengers.  Best wishes," Caroline Palla, Switzerland

“(I) really enjoyed staying at your hostel.  Keep up the good work and best of luck in your future endeavors!”

Adam Metz

“What a wonderful, peaceful place.  Great job you are doing!  Good to know you are here.  We may see you again.”

Ann Metz

“Thanks for the stay Chad.  We got the rest we needed before (the) Athens half Marathon.  Keep exploring!  Happy trails!

Doug Metz, April 13, 2013

“Thank you for the comfortable place to lay my head.  I appreciate your conservation efforts.  Keep up the fight.  Thanks for sharing your stories from hiking in … Alaska.”

Josh Rand

“Thank you for your hospitality and opening your doors for us.  It was a sensational experience and (I) would love to return!  Thank you again!”

KT  November 3, 2012

This was my first experience staying at a hostel – thank you for being so hospitable.  I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and hope to be able to rent from you for a longer period of time in the future, as I love the area and your place is so comfortable and strategically located.  We will hopefully meet again. :)

Jennifer Barburs November 11, 2012

Thanks for everything Chad!  Clay and I had a comfortable, relaxing time here.  The place feels like home and whenever I’m back in the area I’ll make sure to return.  Your stories are incredible and I hope things turn in your favor in the future.  Your passion for the environmental justice inspires me, so I hope you continue on your path with the strength and courage you’ve managed to hold thus far.”

Cheers, Nathan Weiss      

“Chad, out of all the places I’ve stayed at these last few months, this is among my most memorable.  I love this concept of yours and really appreciate your company.  Take care sir and all the luck in the world for your endeavor.

Chris Frisby  New Mexico to New Jersey and all between.

“Chad, I have to say I didn’t know what to expect coming in here, but your friendly, welcoming personality was great!  I wish I had more time to explore the wilderness countryside.  I look forward to telling my friends about our awesome experience here!”

Jordan Shields, Pennsylvania

Great atmosphere, wonderful backyard and overall style of this place.  Loved every moment.

Sam, Brisbane, Australia

"Chad -- Thanks so much for your hospitality!  We'll definitely be stopping back in the future."  Nathan Worzel and Aj Bryce, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

"Thanks ... for the great sleep," Taye, Camille and Jess :)

"This is a nice place.  I'm glad there is a nice place like this around Nelsonville.  I plan on coming back to stay again, Thanks!"  Casey M.  January 12, 2012

"Chad, Thanks so much for waiting up for our arrival in the wee hours of the morning.  Our stay was very brief, but the impression made by you, your exciting tales and the Bessemer Hostel was certainly not.  I plan on coming through again, ... exploring the area further and checking out the garden.  Until then, good luck with everything on your path to self sustainability.  Very inspiring."  Guthrie from San Francisco, California January 14, 2012.  "p.s. looking forward to reading Arctic Quest."

"Thank you for creating this wonderful alternative.  We very much enjoyed our stay, and will be back in the future!  Please let us know of any happenings in the area via email, and you will have return customers."  Marlana and Micah  January 22, 2012             

"It was nice meeting you" Isabelle and Pierre, France

"A young Blue Heron became a resident in one of the property's small ponds while we were there - very cool! The concept and design of the space and landscape is excellent. Maps fill the library area, and the adjoining Wayne National Forest is a wonderful, big ,historic preserve. We drove 15 miles to a half empty old coal mining town named Shawnee, built in the late 19Th Century and looking like a classic western ghost town. Nelsonville is also wonderful if you have a taste for history."  Robert Anderson, August 2011

Guests have also stayed from China, Taiwan, Saudi Arabia, Australia, Germany, Canada, Oregon, New York, Massachusetes, Kansas, Michigan, Hawaii and numerous other places.

The Bessemer Hostel is located at 4592 Bessemer Rd.; Nelsonville, OH 45764.


Home Home